Recipe of the Day: Paleo Mug Chocolate Chip Cookie

Happy Friday!

I have spent the last week assistant-coaching at a cross-country camp at my school, and per request of some of the more foodie-enthusiastic campers, I am publishing this recipe which is TO DIE FOR.

My mom sent me the recipe link, which you can find here:   http://www.foodfanatic.com/recipes/paleo-mug-cake-recipe/

It is a super short list of ingredients, and I made the almond meal by grinding approximately 2 tablespoons of raw almonds into a light, smooth powder/flour/meal. Almonds expand a little when they are ground, so 2 tbsp of almonds might make a little over 2 tbsp of meal. That is a measuring tip that I found by searching diligently on the Internet for a while, so you’re welcome.

I am directly copy/pasting the recipe here, as well.


mug-cookie1
Not my pic!

RECIPE OF THE DAY: PALEO CHOCOLATE CHIP MUG COOKIE

  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • splash pure vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tablespoons almond meal
  • 2 tablespoons dark chocolate chips (mini chips work really well!)

Directions

  1. In the mug, melt coconut oil by microwaving for about 10 seconds.
  2. Add honey, vanilla, and salt; whisk until combined.
  3. Add egg yolk and beat. Beat in almond meal and then fold in the dark chocolate chips.
  4. Cook in the microwave for 40 to 50 seconds until the cookie is puffed up.

 

This apparently yields two servings…..sooo I had my first one at breakfast and my second one at lunch. Boom, “two servings.” If you don’t use that many chocolate chips, it actually isn’t that sweet (AND it’s paleo) so I found it acceptable to eat for breakfast. At the very least, everybody has days like that once in a while!

It tasted like a really good, doughy, chocolately, melty chocolate chip cookie akin to a Pizookie or a warm, homemade cookie and would taste divine over ice cream and especially on its own. For chocolate chip cookie enthusiasts, this is a really nice recipe and I definitely recommend it.

P.S. When I made it, I included the whole egg, but it didn’t rise very much and wasn’t fluffy, so I’m not sure if that’s because of the additional egg white. I would suggest making it according to the recipe–I was just lazy.

The nutritional information is posted at the link, but I’d rather not know because it makes it taste less good! 🙂

 

3 Replies to “Recipe of the Day: Paleo Mug Chocolate Chip Cookie”

Leave a Reply

